Faberge museum tour (approx. 3 hours)
Faberge museum is one of the newest and probably most interesting museums in Saint Petersburg. It holds 14 large Faberge eggs, the majority of which used to belong to Russian Royal family, today it is the largest collection of that type in the world. Besides that, you can see many other jewelry pieces made by Faberge company or by the contemporaries of Carl Faberge.
Faberge Museum is situated in the newly restored Shuvalov palace. Its history started in 2004, when the Russian businessman Viktor Vekselberg bought a collection of Faberge items from the heirs of Malcolm Forbes The main mission of Vekselberg Foundation is to return to Russia the objects of art that were lost during the Soviet period. In order to open this museum, Shuvalov palace was renovated. The museum was opened for public at large in March 2014.
The State Museum of Political History of Russia tour (approx. 2,5-3 hours)
The State Museum of Political History of Russia introduces visitors to prominent personalities in the Russian history. The Museum keeps the evidences of political life of the Russian society since the end of XVIII till the beginning of the XXI century.
It holds more than 460000 units of storage. These exhibits reflect the history of political transformations of the Russian state and destinies of the most outstanding historical figures. The museum is housed in two buildings : the mansions of the famous ballerina Matilda Kshesinskaya, and the Baron Brandt. The main expositions are very large and at the same time the Museum is full of impressive new technologies: touch screens, projections,, sounds, voices, and the only thing that is missing is the smell. If you pick up the phone, you will hear Stalin’s voice, and you can hear and see Leo Tolstoy. The exposition devoted to Matilda Kshesinskaya tells the story of the owner of the mansion. Once she was a mistress of the future Tsar Nicholas II prior to his marriage, and later the wife of his cousin Grand Duke Andrei Vladimirovich.
Kronshtadt tour (5-6 hours)
An unforgettable trip to Kronstadt town – a place of the glory of the Russian Navy located on the Kotlin island in the Gulf of Finland and connected to the city with a long driveway. On the way to Kronshtadt one can see a dam – a complex of structures that protects St. Petersburg from floods. During two centuries the complex of 20 fortifications around Kotlin Island were built in the Gulf of Finland and one can see some of them on a boat trip around the forts.
Kronshtadt fortress became one of the most fortified area in the world and the strongest naval fortress of Europe.
During the last centuries the town has performed a very important role in the history of Russia being a naval outpost built to protect St Petersburg. Its history is closely connected with the name of Peter the Great,with the establishing and strengthening of the Russian Navy, outstanding discoveries and inventions of Russian scientists and the events of the Second World War. There are a lot of historical, cultural and technical monuments in Kronstadt. The unique hydrotechnical and defensive structures, marvelous buildings and architectural ensembles such as the Kronshlot fort, the complex of provincial houses of the beginning of the XVIII century, docks of Peter the Great and others. And of course the gem of the city is the marvelous Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas. There is a multitude of churches in Russia dedicated to St. Nicholas, but none is so grandiose as the Kronstadt Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas, consecrated 100 years ago. The enormous cathedral was built with the personal aid of the last Russian Tzar Nicholas II and consecrated in June 1913, during the 300th anniversary year of the Romanov dynasty. The cathedral’s dedication to St. Nicholas reflected not only the role of that saint as the protector of seafarers, but also a connection to the imperial patron, Nicholas II.
Oranienbaum tour (5-6 hours)
Oranienbaum – is a unique monument of the Russian culture and art of the XVIII century situated in the town of Lomonosov on the South coast of the Gulf of Finland, 40 km from St. Petersburg. It is the only suburb of St. Petersburg that has not been totally destroyed in the course of the WWII and now it presents a great artistic value being the original monument introducing to the history and art of the past. At first Oranienbaum lands belonged to Alexander Menshikov, the close friend and associate of Peter the Great. Later this estate was in possession of Romanovs dynasty.
Park and Palace complex includes 3 architectural ensembles: the one of the Grand Palace, the one of Petershtadt and the one of the “Datcha” with its famous Chinese Palace that belonged to Catherine the Great. The Chinese Palace in Oranienbaum was the first palace commissioned by Russian Empress Catherine the Great. The unique features include the Beaded Salon, which walls are covered in “bangle work” (thousands of tiny colored glass beads) arranged in complex images of floral and animal motifs. The majority of St. Petersburg’s country palaces were destroyed during World War II, but the Chinese Palace at Oranienbaum survived with its lavish interiors intact.
The Ethnographic Museum tour (approx. 3 hours)
The Ethnographic Museum is one of the largest ethnographic museums in the world. It holds 500,000 ethnographic objects from 158 communities of people, who inhabited the Russian Empire, Soviet Union, and Russian Federation. The museum shows how diverse and colourful the traditional cultures of different communities are. The Ethnographic Museum reveals the stories of how people worked, how built and furnished their homes; how they, raised their children, dressed, and what they believed in. Folk costumes, textiles, pieces of wood and metal, ceramics – the handicrafts of each nation which reflect their individual national identities.
The Monument to the Heroic Defenders of Leningrad (approx. 3 hours)
The Museum dedicated to the Heroic Defenders of Leningrad is located beneath the monument. The exposition includes documents, soldiers’ personal belongings, weapons, awards, a 125-gramm slice of bread – the only food available to the citizens at the winter time in 1941-42, and other items, connected with the history of the Siegeof Leningrad. The Memorial Hall houses “Chronicle of the Siege of Leningrad” and “Memory Book”. Bronze pages of the Chronicle describe the series of events that took place in Leningrad and tell about each of the 900 siege days.
Russian Museum was the first state museum of fine arts in Russia. It was founded in 1895 by the decree of the Emperor Nicholas II. Now the collection of the Russian Museum counts 400 000 exhibits and covers all historical periods and the development trends of the Russian art, all its main genres, tendencies and schools for the last 1000 years:
During this excursion you’
Wil see over 5000 Orthodox Icons includinga real masterpiece of the Russian icon painting – “Angel with golden hair” icon of the XII century, the masterpieces of the Russian art of the XVIII – XIX centuries – one of the biggest paining in the Russian museum created by Karl Brullov – “The Last Day of Pompeii”, “The Brazen Serpent” by Feodor Bruni, “The Ninth Wave” by Aivazovsky and others. You’ll also explore the history of the development of Russian painting of the XX century famous for such painters as Repin, Petrov-Vodkin, Serov, Vrubel, Kasimir Malevich and famous artists of Russian avant-garde.